Three Early Poems

Souldream

Herein be monsters of the soul,

uncharted depths and unmapped lands,

unknown, unguessed the magnet pole

that forms my innermost demands.

*

And I–no brave new Drake to chart

the globe of self–I have no art

to launch my ship, unfurl my sail.

I stay ashore, afraid to fail.

*

And yet, on nights when storm clouds rage,

I long to slip my barque and go

where wind and wave full fiercely wage,

and see this self I do not know.

 

Ruach

Blow upon me, Spiritwind,

like a feather let me dance

on the breezes of your love.

*

(Stepping to the harmonies

of the symphony of spheres,

singing with the morning stars)

*

May the zephyrs of your breath

cast me up in wildest jest,

like a feather on the wind.

 

Fortress Louisbourg

The grass is deep, the trees are old,

the land lies peaceful and serene,

far different from what once was seen

when blood was cheap, and life was sold

for causes now forgotten.

*

A thousand men swept past this hill,

a hundred cannons belched their shot.

The fortress fell, though dearly bought,

as death alone could pay the bill

for causes long forgotten.

*

The trees and grasses clothe the ground

made rich by losses of the war,

while men still seek that bloody whore

made fat by still another round

of causes soon forgotten.

 

I am posting these three early poems of mine in response to a request to see some of my earlier work.  Souldream was written in 1981 for the Marin Festival of the Arts, and took first place in the poetry category.  Ruach is a Hebrew word (first used in Genesis 1:2)  that has two meanings–spirit and wind.  I visited Fortress Louisbourg in 1982.  The Fortress was the site of a major battle of the French and Indian War.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

