A Slight Mishap

I stepped on the gas and felt the Galaxy’s

engines rumble in response.  So I said to my girl,

“How about a spin about the universe before dinner?”

I red shifted, let out the clutch, and set off

observing Plank’s constant and the laws

of thermodynamics and relativity–

one must obey the laws.  But I forgot

Newton’s law, blue shifted on a weak force curve,

and spun out of control, throwing out

the universal joint, then careening

headlong into a black hole.  I felt my atoms

come apart at the force of twenty-one billion gigawatts

of electricity, and was scattered across

the event horizon–which put a damper

on my other plans for the rest of the evening.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Astronomy, Humor, Poetry

Leave a Reply

